Advanced search
Visit
16580
Last Updated: 2012/01/07
Summary of question
What is the Islamic law about chocolates or other products containing alcohol or gelatin?
question
I have a question and I hope you will answer it. I am living in a non-Islamic country. Here it is difficult for foreigners to find a job especially in today's tough economic times. Is there any objection in eating chocolates or other products which contain alcohol or gelatin? What if the alcohol does not cause drunkenness?
Concise answer

We forwarded the above question to the offices of some of the grand jurists and the answers which we have received are as under:

Office of Grand Ayatollah Khamenei (may Allah grant him long life):

Generally speaking, the alcohol which is not determined whether or not it is originally intoxicating or not, is ritually clean and is treated as such. There is no problem in using the liquids which contain alcohol and if one doubts whether the alcohol is intoxicating or not, it is treated as clean. If gelatin comes in halal and haram type and you do not know whether it is of the halal type or of the haram type, it is treated as halal and it is permissible to use it.

Office of Grand Ayatollah Sistani (may Allah grant him long life):

It is permissible to eat gelatin if one doubts whether it has been extracted from an animal or vegetable. All kinds of alcohol whether derived from wood or other sources are pure (tãhir). Therefore, the food in whose preparation alcohol was used is tãhir except for when it causes drunkenness, in which case, the ruling which will apply to it would be different; it would be haram to use it. God knows best.

Office of Grand Ayatollah Makarem Shirazi (may Allah grant him long life):

Yes, it is not permissible.

The answer given to the foregoing question by Ayatollah Mahdi Hadavi Tehrani (may Allah grant him long life) is as under:

If gelatin is derived from vegetable for an animal which has been slaughtered according to Islamic law, it is halal and ritually pure. If it is likely to have been derived from halal source, it will be pure and if it is probable that it has been derived from vegetable it would be also halal to eat.

If a chemical change occurs in the original ingredients during the process of manufacturing the gelatin, it is clean and there is no problem at all in eating it even if the original ingredient may have been pork or meat of an animal which has not been slaughtered according to Islamic laws.

Alcohol is pure but it is not permissible to consume it. In case the amount of alcohol existing in food is so minute that the food is considered by the wise as having no alcohol, it is halal to eat. In case one doubts about it, it is treated as permissible to eat.

For further information in this regard, refer to the following indexes:

1. Index: The Islamic law about the permissibility of alcohol, question No.2501 site: 2631).

2. Index: Haram and halal gel, question No. 405site: 421 ).

Detailed Answer
This question does not have a detailed answer.
Question translations in other languages
Comments
Number of comments 0
Please enter the value
Example : Yourname@YourDomane.ext
Please enter the value
Please enter the value

Thematic Category

Random questions

  • Is it permissible to follow a Sunni prayer leader in a congregational prayer?
    7807 گوناگون 2015/04/14
    There is no problem in attending Sunni congregational prayers; it is permissible and there are some reports according to which one who stands in the first row of their congregational prayers is like one who has offered his prayers standing behind the Holy Prophet (S) in the ...
  • What is the most important message of Surah al-Masadd?
    16107 Exegesis 2012/12/31
    The most important message of this Surah (chapter) can be explain in such a way that wealthy, position and family relationship with prophets cannot protect an individual from God’s wrath or fury. Abu Lahab is an example in this chapter of the Quran. He is one of ...
  • Which has priority, the doctor’s prescription or religion?
    7585 Laws and Jurisprudence 2010/05/26
    This question doesn’t have a brief answer. Please click on the detailed answer. ...
  • What is E'tikaf?
    9451 Theoretical 2011/07/07
    Literally, E'tikaf (cleave to a mosque) means to stay or remain at a place or to cleave to smething. E'tikaf in Islamic law is a pious practice consisting of a period of retreat at a sacred place for the purpose of seeking proximity and nearness ...
  • What is the starting point for purifying the soul?
    11854 Practical 2009/09/23
    Purification means to clean your soul of impurity. The Quran has mentioned purifying the soul in various verses but one should know that the basis and starting point of purification varies from person to person.  For a person that is not Muslim, the first essential step will be ...
  • Is Satan eternal and immortal like God since God gave respite to Satan until Day of Judgment?
    10086 Exegesis 2019/06/12
    Eternity means a state of immortal existence in future. Since Satan is God's creature and each creature is under the control of its creator, therefore Satan cannot make himself involved in God's affairs volitionally, rather like other creatures whatever he has belongs to God. The respite God ...
  • In the Quran’s viewpoint, is man an ignorant and unjust creature or is he khalifatullah (God’s vicegerent)?
    12003 Exegesis 2008/06/17
    1. The Holy Quran praises man (mankind) in many ways, while, on the other hand, scolding and reproaching him in various verses.2. Because of man's high potentials, he is able to reach and ascend to the highest levels and ranks, and at the same time, is capable of sinking ...
  • Please provide us with a short biography of Imam Hasan al-Askari (as).
    4157 Way of life of 2021/03/31
  • Do Christians acknowledge Prophet Khidhr?
    8104 تاريخ بزرگان 2009/11/25
    There is no mention of Khidhr in the Bible, and it is unlikely to find mention of his name or anything related to him in any other books of Christianity. Of course, you should also know that in the holy Quran the specific name of “Khidhr” is not ...
  • What is Islam’s ruling on listening to music?
    19672 Laws and Jurisprudence 2010/11/21
    Music is essentially sound, and watching it (without listening) has no ruling; the only ruling there is, has to do with producing and the sale of instruments, teaching and learning, playing, and listening to it. Most scholars consider listening to and producing lahwi music to be haram and ...

Popular